Health and Safety

(last updated June 8, 2022)

The IROS 2022 organizing committee then decided to hold the IROS as a traditional in-person conference. Virtual attendance will also be an option for those who have travel restrictions by their organization or do not feel comfortable participating in large gatherings, with the recognition that the conference cannot be experienced fully while remote.

This page will be updated as COVID19 policies evolve.

2022 IROS Health and Safety Hub

The health and safety of our conference attendees is our top priority. The 2022 IROS Conference Organizing Committee remains vigilant in monitoring the COVID19 pandemic.

OC will follow the guidelines by the government and the venue ICC Kyoto in order to host the event safely. 

Request to participants from ICC Kyoto:

·       Take your temperature before leaving home

·       Wear masks and observe the coughing etiquette

·       Thoroughly disinfect and sterilize your hands, wash your hands, and gargle

·       Refrain from participating if you meet any conditions requiring admission restriction

·       Refrain from discarding masks in the venue

We would like to ask for your cooperation in preventing the spread of infection.

Border measures from June 1, 2022

Based on the New Border Measures(28), from June 1, entry restrictions and quarantine measures are determined according to the grouping of the countries.

※3days at home (or facility) + negative test result



Afghanistan, Algeria, Argentine, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Belgium, Benin, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cote d’lvoire, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Estonia, Ethiopia, Finland, France, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Guatemala, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Jordan, Kenya, Kyrgyz, Laos, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Mexico, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Philippines, Poland, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Romania, Russia, Rwanda, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South Sudan, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States of America, Zambia


Andorra, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Bhutan, Botswana, Brunei, Burkina Faso, Cabo Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Cook Island, Cuba, Cyprus, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Dominica, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Eswatini, Federated States of Micronesia, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Grenada, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, India, Kazakhstan, Kiribati, Kosovo, Kuwait, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Liechtenstein, Macau, Maldives, Mali, Malta, Mauritania, Mauritius, Moldova, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Niue, North Korea, North Macedonia, Oman, Palestine, Peru, Portugal, Republic of Burundi, Republic of Congo, Republic of the Marshall Islands, Republic of Vanuatu, Saint Christopher and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Seychelles, Solomon, Somalia, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Syria, Tajikistan, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Ukraine, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vatican, Venezuela, Viet Nam, Western Sahara, Yemen, Zimbabwe


Albania, Fiji, Pakistan, Sierra Leone

For details please refer to  Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare

New entry of foreign nationals 

Based on the New Border Measures (29), from June 10, 2022, foreign nationals who apply for new entry into Japan based on the following categories are allowed for new entry into Japan if the receiving organizations complete prescribed applications in the ERFS system.

(1) short-term stay (less than three months) for purposes including business and employment (2022.3.1~)
(2) short-term stay for tourism (only when a travel agency etc. serves as the receiving organization; starting 2022.6.10)
(3) long-term stay (2022.3.1~)

Currently, all foreign nationals need to apply for visa (except for those with re-entry permit).

Required documents for visa application:
Certificate for completion of Registration to the ERFS system obtained by a receiving organization along with other visa application documents.

Border Measures by the Government of Japan:  Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Past articles:

Health and Safety 20220415

Health and Safety 20220314