IROS Student and Developing Countries Travel Award

We are pleased to announce the IROS Student and Developing Countries (IROS-SDC) Travel Award for the fifth year in IROS history.

The purpose of this IROS-SDC Travel Award is to assist student authors and authors from developing countries in defraying some of their travel costs to attend and present their papers at the IROS conference and to interact with conference attendees. This IROS-SDC Travel Award aims to promote the growth of IROS conferences by reaching out to graduate students and members from developing countries.

The award consists of partial travel support up to 80,000 JPY, or 80% of the applicant’s air travel, whichever is smaller.

More information is here.


Applicants must satisfy the following two eligibility requirements:

  1. Student authors (of accepted papers) or authors from developing countries (as defined by IEEE in IAWP Developing Country Listing).
  2. Student members or members of IEEE RAS/IES, RSJ, or SICE. (Note: Members of other IEEE Societies are not eligible.)

 Application (Closed)

For applying, please fill out this Online Application form.

For those who cannot use Google Form, please download this excel form, fill it out, and send your application to Write on the subject of the email: YOUR FULL NAME + “application for SDC travel award”.

For questions regarding SDC Travel support, please contact 


IROS Student and Developing Countries Travel Award Winners

The selection has been made under the regulation of eligibility related to developing countries, and also based on the budget constraints, giving priority to in-person presentation by first author students.

First Name Last Name   First Name Last Name
Esra Erdem Li-Yuan Tsao
Ratijit Mitra Ofer Dagan
An Thai Le Kevin Green
Puze Liu Maia Stiber
jiaxi zheng Kartikeya Walia
Krispin Broers Hao-Wei Chen
Sandra Wells Hijiri Akahane
Yibo Liu Pranay Thangeda
Mohammad Mahdavian Stacey Shield
Tianrui Guan Eion Tyacke
Shantanu Singh Priya Sundaresan
Mohd Omama Rishabh Madan
Tsu-Ching Hsiao Rafael Ignacio Cabral Muchacho
Changwei Chen Di Wu
Colin Pollard Lena Downes
Hsu-Shen Liu Connor Yako
Min-Won Seo Shubham Singh
Shan-Ya Yang Ruolin Ye
Tsu-Ching Hsiao Rajat Kumar Jenamani
Luis Marques Angelos Mavrogiannis
Jakub Slama William Heap
Julia Tan Elvy Yao
Jianzhuang Zhao Diego Salazar
Jiayi Wang Jay Patel
Nicholas Conlon Emile Mackute
Helei Duan

Further process of the award will be announced later.